The commune extends through the Quepe river basin upper section (one of the main streams of the Imperial river) between Ruta 5 through the west and the Llaima volcano through the east. Joining these two points, the route S-31 works as the commune’s backbone. The most populated towns have established in its route. These are, west to east, Cajón, General López, Vilcún (communal capital), San Patricio and Cherquenco.